Yes, your traditional corn tortilla or taco shell is made of corn, which is considered gluten-free, but corn is a GMO-crop and one that is sprayed heavily before harvesting. Organic corn is is often cross contaminated. Corn is also a high-mold crop and many people have sensitivities to it (even if they do not realize it). Other corn tortillas and taco shells are made with toxic vegetable oils and/or added preservatives.
Luckily, some creative companies have figured out how to make good tasting tortillas and taco shells that are corn-free, gluten-free, and even grain-free. Once you have these, you can get creative with the rest of the ingredients, using your favorites. Continue reading